A Babe in Lala Land Explains

12 Jun

Hello all, 

I just thought I would take a moment to state my purpose before I embark on what is sure to be a beautiful and hopefully somewhat consistent blog journey.  So, here goes.  As many of you already know, I am a recent graduate with a degree in English literature with a minor in French.  I have decided to fully capitalize on those concentrations by becoming an au pair in Orange County, California for two girls ages ten and five.  I want this blog to be a space for a couple of things related to that.

Thing 1: Ridiculous things happen around children.  My first day here I was asked by a random child to tie their shoe, I have spent extensive amounts of time attempting to bathe someone who will only interact with my by barking and will not stand on two human feet, I am becoming both of my parents in equal measure super quickly, I have learned the entire plot of at least four separate Barbie movies.  I want to share these moments with you, the moments when I realize that I am out of my depth, or I need someone to share a moment but I cannot effectively text it.

Thing 2: As a literature student, I’m getting to read for the first time in many years the books that I actually want to read, and since I feel self-important for having conquered four years of literature classes, I refuse to feel guilty about what I know is trash.  That being said, I am reading a lot, and some of it is actually horrible, while some of it is quietly good.  I want to keep track of these things.  The same can be said of movies, which I have watched more of here than I did my entire time at Wash U.

Thing 3: As a human named Kate, I am devouring television.  I want to keep track of what I watch on some level, and since I can now no longer confront people on a day to day basis with my love for certain television shows so that when they need something to watch they immediately think, “if I watch this Kate will maybe shut up, probably?” I should probably write these things down.  Because I know none of you have watched Jekyll and you really should and I want there to be an archive of this.  

So, that’s basically what I’m trying to do here.  I may also post gross pictures of myself to prove I’m actually still a functional human who wears clothes.  This is also because I sometimes look cool and neither a five-year-old or a ten-year-old are going to realize this for widely divergent reasons (where are the sequins? and why do you look so weird? respectively).  I promise to try not to whine too much or come to emotional epiphanies at the end of each post, because you know what guys, sometimes a dance recital is just a shit show of poorly dancing youth, and not a reflection of all of us as we move through life wearing too much make up and questionable outfits for our body types desperately trying to find our places and watch the teacher for guidance all while being reminded firmly that we should smile and look like we are enjoying ourselves as our guardians watch on.  I promise not to end posts like that.  Mostly.

2 Responses to “A Babe in Lala Land Explains”

  1. Julie Esther Witte June 14, 2012 at 5:49 pm #

    Life is one long epiphany! Have a blast Kate — they are lucky to have you! I am a wee bit puzzled and entertained as I try to imagine exactly which parts of your parents you are channeling!

    • Kate June 14, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      I keep saying things like “I’m going to count to three” and “Because I said to” and “Life’s not fair.” It’s a mess!

Leave a Reply

